Customer Reviews

Rev's audio transcription and video caption services are trusted by more than 100,000 customers around the world. Our 99% accuracy is backed with a 100% guarantee.

OVERALL TRUSTSCORE

4.6/5

100% Verified Feedback & Reviews from Customers

Based on 4,672 reviews

  March 20, 2019  
Braden
Being new to setting up captions for videos, I mistakenly ordered transcriptions for my first order with Rev. While the customer service agent was very patient with my frustration, I got to be charged over 1/3 of my original order as a "foolishness tax" after all she could provide was a partial refund. Pretty quick way to make what was a positive experience a feel bad moment. The transcriptions I got were fast and accurate except for industry terms, which were easy enough to fix with a few minutes of editing. Sadly, they aren't usable for what I needed them for.
  February 24, 2019  
Henry S.
The service was ok, it was not bad. I personally found that the accuracy rate was not as high as advertised.
  February 22, 2019  
Seth M.
A lot of missed words ("spread" instead of "sprint," "marketize" instead of "democratize" to name a few) that lost the key point of several sentences to the point where I had to go back and listen to my recording anyway.
  February 15, 2019  
Tony Q.
My interview was not transcribed Word for Word which is what I paid for. The transcriber had various errors and missed certain words in the transcription.
  February 12, 2019  
John Greaves I.
Good value compared to paying a dedicated transcription service. Not as easy to use as other apps like Tape A Call Pro. Difficult to distinguish between Rev Call Recorder and Rev Recorder. Transcription services are good but sometimes have trouble with speakers who have pronounced accents. Definitely take the time to include unusual words or acronyms in your transcription order!
  January 31, 2019  
Ron
Quick turnaround, a variety of options, and pretty inexpensive. Because so many individual transcribers are working for them, quality and even format can vary quite a bit. Overall, quality is generally acceptable, but not exemplary (a little bit of "you get what you pay for"). I wish they would have a standard format everyone uses, and I wish so many of their transcribers wouldn't always type in gonna, wanna, and oughta instead of going to, want to, and ought to. I'm not trying to capture colloquialisms or accents in the transcripts - just the English people are speaking.
  November 29, 2018  
Sebastian S.
I had to do multiple corrections to the text.
  November 15, 2018  
Lindsay F.
Quick service, and nice staff. Annoying to get a second pass on a transcript without being told, especially if you are doing a large number of transcripts simultaneously.
  November 3, 2018  
Glenn
Some missed words. More than just the inaudible stuff.
  October 25, 2018  
M. B.
As a professional journalist, I use Rev frequently. It’s reliably fast, but the quality is uneven, and the customer service can be terrible. If there’s a problem with your transcript, there’s no way to get it fixed that doesn’t involve waiting months and sending multiple emails.
  September 26, 2018  
Arne R. J. B.
Needs a bit of improvement.
  September 18, 2018  
Annie
Decent. I split it up meaning different translators did different sections so I could get a faster turn around time. One of the translators used a lots of "inaudible" on parts of the transcription that weren't that hard to understand. The other two translators did a decent job and only had one or two "inaudible". It really depends who ends up transcribing your audio how good your quality will be.
  September 15, 2018  
MWoodruff
The turnaround time was fast, but the document has too many mistakes. I've had to spend a lot of time going through it and editing. I would have preferred a longer turnaround time for a better outcome.
  August 31, 2018  
Eric B.
Make sure you verify their work - the turn around can be a bit slower than what they promise and the quality can vary significantly. They will offer a small discount for the next time but it doesn't mean they will always verify the quality of their work. Still not sure if I will use them again.
  August 21, 2018  
LM
For the most part, Rev did a good job and captured most of the recorded information. I was a little disappointed, however, because there seemed to be a lot of careless mistakes. I reviewed all of the transcripts and noticed that a lot of things that were written as "inaudible" were hard to hear but definitely something that could have been figured out with a few close listens. Other times "crosstalk" was written but most of the time you could very clearly write out were they were saying. I feel like the transcribers missed some important information by carelessness in writing "inaudible" or "crosstalk" so they could finish the transcript. There were also times when the transcriber wrote the incorrect transcription of the audio recording. It took me a very long time to review the transcripts as a result of these mistakes and, at times, like I was doing the transcription all over again.
  August 17, 2018  
Frank P.
Very quick turnaround; somewhat weird formatting once transcripts are made into PDFs or docx. files; seemingly incapable of deciphering scientific terms of any complexity
  August 10, 2018  
Alexandra V.
The transcription of the submitted audio files was very fast - as promised. However, the quality of the transcription is not satisfing. For example, in one of the audio files one person talked about maps and globes - the transcription uses the term glove - which doesn't make any sense in the given context.
  July 21, 2018  
dj S.
Took three full days to get uploaded then it was done quickly and very good results but it’s been more than a week and I can open all you did but ...when I download and save as ...they will not open or print for me... so I’ve paid money for something I need desperately to have printed so I can tweak and write an ebook and cannot open or print your files Very Frustrating - so I cannot finish a job that would’ve and should’ve taken several hours still not done after several WEEKS.
  June 7, 2018  
Jean M.
If I was grading the work on this transcription, I'd give it a "C". It met my minimum expectations. It would have gotten an "A" if there won't so many parts of the recording left out in the transcription through comments such as "crosstalk" and "inaudible." If these parts of the conversation (more than a few minutes) is not going to be transcribed, I should not have to pay for it!
  June 6, 2018  
Bowen C.
Many small words were misheard, so there was a lot of extra work that had to be done to get the transcript to match with the audio