Customer Reviews

Rev's audio transcription and video caption services are trusted by more than 100,000 customers around the world. Our 99% accuracy is backed with a 100% guarantee.

Overall Customer Satisfaction
4.6/5
Based on 4,153 reviews
100% Verified Feedback & Reviews from Customers
5 star
(3416)
4 star
(451)
3 star
(145)
2 star
(73)
1 star
(68)
Showing 2-star reviews  •  See all reviews
  September 15, 2016   Reviewed by Customer
Website unclear as to who will accept their translation. NOT "100% Guaranteed Acceptance" by all.
I needed a marriage certificate translated in order to get a driver's license in a new state. After searching many online sites, I found Rev.com and because of their advertised 100% guaranteed acceptance, I used their service. The turnaround time was quick and I thought all went well. Until I tried to use the certified, translated copy at the BMV in Indiana to get my license. The BMV requires that the certification letter state that the translation was not done by a friend or relative. (This is not the fault of rev.com, obviously.) So, I called their 800 number and spoke to a very nice woman to ask if they could add that verbiage to their letter for me. I was informed that they could not and that their translations are not typically accepted by DMV offices. She said if I had indicated on my request that that is what I was using it for they would have advised me against using their service. I asked for a refund since I could not use the translation they gave me and I felt that their website was misleading or at the very least unclear about who would accept their translations. Especially if this is something they are aware of. I was denied a refund. I am very unhappy with the fact that they, the translation experts, did not make it clear on their website that their services are not accepted by a very specific government office.

  August 30, 2016   Reviewed by Marc
I HAD TOO MUCH TO GO BACK AND CLEAN UP!
I HAD TOO MUCH TO GO BACK AND CLEAN UP! I also don't like the fact of having to pay an additional payment of $7.00 for a recording that was only 59 minutes. Your assessment was 66 minutes. After checking several times i still don't find it to be as you assessed me.

  March 19, 2016   Reviewed by James
Poor transcriptions and translations
I've used both the translation and transcription services - about US$450 worth - and I've been very disappointed with the quality across the board. The translations had to be redone locally as people told me they looked like Google Translate, and the transcriptions were riddled with errors. I had to spend countless hours correcting all the errors. I should have just done them myself to begin with. Avoid at all costs if you're serious about quality and have ongoing work.

  March 14, 2016   Reviewed by Chris
Really want to like Rev, but too unreliable to recommend
I've tried Rev now a couple times in the past few months on half a dozen files. Of those, two files were delayed beyond promised delivery dates, which is a serious problem for us. (The most recent delay is a 1.5 hour file I submitted on March 7 that is still not complete on March 14.) Transcription quality is generally good when we do get the files, and Rev's customer support is excellent, but if I can't count on getting the files in time, I can't use the service.

  December 14, 2015   Reviewed by JR
Rev.com Transcription
When I submitted an audio file for 24 hour transcription, the price seemed competitive - especially for the turn around time. When I later read the fine print that 'poor audio' or files longer than 1 hour were not covered by the 24 hour policy, I toyed with canceling. But, I figured, how much longer could 20 additional minutes take? Figuring 48 hours still fit my needs, I let it go. When I rechecked my account, the time was updated to FOUR days. I called to find out why and was only told that several people had started and bailed on my file. No reason given for the extreme delay. The service reps were friendly but ultimately offered little sympathy or any alternative workarounds. I doubt I would use the service again.

  November 9, 2014   Reviewed by notorious
plenty of mistakes
too expensive for this many mistakes and missing words. I tried asking customer service and they think it is perfect. I need to get red marker out and really go through it, then will have to do a word count and see if they failed to meet their 98% mark like they promise.

  August 1, 2014   Reviewed by Honest A.
Quick transcription, but full of errors
I paid for all the Rev upgrades, but found that the end result contained many grammatical and spelling errors that needed to be fixed by hand.

  July 23, 2014   Reviewed by GL1234
the 24 hour turnaround is not honored
I recently purchased a certified translation (2 pages), but it's taking longer to receive back. the site states it takes only 24 hours and more than 48 hours have passed.

  July 16, 2014   Reviewed by Michael
Fast, great customer service, but poor quality overall
I sent 6 files to the company. They were transcribed incredibly fast. However, large chunks were labelled "inaudible" and many of the words were not corresponding to the actual audio. When I enquired, customer service did their best to have the scripts changed. However, more and more mistakes became apparent. In addition to this, I asked for specific labels on all scripts, which hadn't been done on several. Customer service changed this, but still, it was hard work getting formats the same. The margins are different on each script and like I said, half seemed like guess work. The accents were not difficult (English), one Scottish (not strong). I seriously cannot see why it was so hard for the transcribers. I also think each script was done by a different person. The most positive part was Amity. This person did their best to help me and went the extra mile to fix things. It is a shame this person wasn't the person transcribing! it would of been much better. Thanks to Amity, but I won't be using the service again.

  July 1, 2014   Reviewed by Kristin
Turnaround time A+, dictation to transcription accuracy D-
I was very excited to see that the typed transcript was returned to me in record time. I submitted the audio recording Friday afternoon and received the typed transcript on Saturday early afternoon. BUT, when I compared the audio with the typed transcript, I found several mistakes on each page. Some of the mistakes changed the entire meaning of the dialogue. With the sheer number of typed errors I have to assume a live person did not transcribe the audio files. I now have to take time out of my day to sit through the entire audio recording to correct the typed transcript line-by-line. For that I am very disappointed and unless you can guarantee better results, I will not likely use your services again nor will I recommend your services to anyone I know.

  July 1, 2014   Reviewed by Thorin
Hard transcription rushed w/ lots of errors, no speaker names, useless
We submitted a 90-minute roundtable panel with roughly a dozen speakers. Obviously that's a difficult assignment. Audio quality was not great (1 H4N recorder for the whole room). We provided speaker names, and the audio starts off with each speaker introducing themselves. The transcribed text only includes speaker names on the actual audio where the speakers introduce themselves, the rest of the recording only has Voice #20, etc. No effort was made to matchback to their introduction. In addition, many of the comments were transcribed incorrectly and much of it was deemed "inaudible." This transcription is nearly useless, we'll have to go back and re-listen to everything before we use it. I know this was difficult audio to transcribe, I would have certainly accepted some mistakes if it was mostly a usable transcription. But the end result is not usable. Based on this experience, I could not recommend Rev for this type of audio transcription.

  June 18, 2014   Reviewed by Lou b.
Not good
It seemed pretty efficient initially. I received the translated document within hours. However , it came with many typos. I requested a corrected document and I'm still waiting over 24hrs later for a response.

  June 9, 2014   Reviewed by Renee
Very disappointed
Was looking for translation for marriage license. Town hall did not accept document. One pro was document was translated quickly.

  June 8, 2014   Reviewed by Teresa
I was very dissatisfied with the translation.
The document was not translated properly and it was really a one page document and not two. I would have thought that someone would have called upon seeing it was only one page and not two. But if course I paid for two pages. Also, if you didn't understand the wording, again , someone should have called to ask. This was for immigration services and the word for immigration was misspelled, not once, but twice. The person you had translate this document obviously does not know how to translate. I knew I should have used Certitrans instead and they are cheaper.

  May 28, 2014   Reviewed by Yasir
Fast service, mediocre quality, greedy pricing.
I submitted one page to be translated into Chinese. The word count was less than 180 words in total. But I was told to pay for 2 pages!!!!!!! The excuse being the a small table with a few numbers and no text had to be typed up, and the translator must be compensated for those few additional key strokes!! Frustrating. The biggest issue I have with Rev is that the quality turned out to be sub-standard. An official document was translated into something closer to spoken Chinese than official Chinese. Overall, if just want to get the gist of something then consider Rev. For an official translation look elsewhere.

  May 11, 2014   Reviewed by reed
7 days with no response
i paid us 39 for transcriptions a week ago. my money is gone, but i have no news of any work being done on the transcription.

  May 9, 2014   Reviewed by David D.
Did not represent service correctly
While certain aspects of Rev.com were satisfactory, such as the return time, two of the four hour long interviews I submitted for transcription were full of errors and [inaudible] notations and the other two were certainly not 98% accurate as advertised either. I had to correct these interviews myself, which invalidated my spending nearly three hundred dollars on these transcriptions and took several hours.

  May 4, 2014   Reviewed by David
Quick service, sketchy quality
Hey Rev. I'm a master's student with a full-time job who needed more than 10 hours of thesis interviews transcribed quickly so I could get started on my data analysis and writing. After giving you $500 to make 11 hour-long transcriptions happen, you guys delivered on the "quickly" part, but not so much on the "quality" part. I should be able to blow through these transcripts and code my data, but I'm finding parts of the transcripts don't make any sense at all. Which means I have to stop coding, and go back and re-listen to the interviews to figure out what's going on. This is a huge time suck. Sure, some of the transcriptions are perfect, but the one's that are of poor quality cause major delays in the writing of my thesis, which is why I spent the $500 for the "professionals" to do it. In my opinion, every transcription should be perfect. And no transcription should include unintelligible paragraphs.

  May 2, 2014   Reviewed by Leon
Excellent service with questionable accounting practice for determining fees
To Whom It May Concern, I think the appearance of your product is both official and professional with an excellent turn-around time between submission of the request and delivery of the documents. However, like most Americans I do not speak or read Chinese and I did not know that I had submitted one of the pages to you in duplicate and that it was not necessary to translate the same page twice and charge me accordingly. In all fairness your translator should have flagged that error and contacted me before proceeding to translate the same document twice. I addition, if you have been in this business for more than a few days then you have translated many documents identical to those of my request and have a treasure trove of forms, already translated into English, for each of the many countries that you provide your service. These many forms are readily available as a cut and paste item in which your translator fills in the blanks. For example, of the 124 words on page 2 of 3 for the Divorce Certificate only sixteen words actually have to be translated and entered onto the page. On page 3 of 3 of the Divorce Certificate only 33 words have to be translated and entered onto the page. A similar relationship exists for the Certificate of No Marriage Registration Records. In the one case there is a total of 120 words in the entire document and only nineteen words had to be translated and entered into the form and in the other case of the 127 words contained in the whole document only nineteen words had to be translated and entered into the document. In other words I think you provide an excellent service but feel that I have been overcharged for translating a total of only about 87 words and for too many pages. Sincerely, Leon Jostad 2769 Stone Brook Circle Paso Robles, CA 93446 Telephone: 805-237-0840 Email: ljostad@msn.com

  April 20, 2014   Reviewed by Noah
It would be cheaper and of better quality to hire a chimpanzee at the zoo.
So, I saw rev.com had these rave reviews and I thought I would see if they offered certified transcription. They do not. With that in mind I thought I would try them out anyway because their credentials seemed legitimate. I sent two audio .wav files and had the transcripts back within a day.. That's great they were done so quickly, but they were absolutely worthless transcriptions. Every other word was not even remotely close to what was said in the conversations. Now I try to be understanding and acknowledge that one of the files had background noise, but the conversations in both files could be heard clearly and transcribed efficiently. I contacted rev.com and received a whopping 25% of the total cost as a refund. I will never use them again and strongly discourage anyone else from using them.