Customer Reviews

Rev's audio transcription and video caption services are trusted by more than 100,000 customers around the world. Our 99% accuracy is backed with a 100% guarantee.

OVERALL TRUSTSCORE

4.6/5

100% Verified Feedback & Reviews from Customers

Based on 4,397 reviews

  October 27, 2017  
Unhappy T.
My transcript must have been written by a machine. No human would make so many, dumb mistakes. Worse, whole portions of the transcribed interview were attributed to the wrong speaker. They even got the name of my company wrong at least twice in the transcript. UPDATE: The Rev.com response below suggests I should use their star rating that came on the transcript. But only one of the three transcripts I received had such a system and it was not the one that was most mangled. Further, it appears to suggest that the person who handled the transcript would be punished -- I think this is more of a system failure.
  October 18, 2017  
Heidi H.
I cannot work with the formatting. I asked to have it not used, and Rev.com agreed. Then the formatting I requested not be used, was used. I asked for it to be removed. They said no. I will not be using them again. The formatting is impossible to work with and is very challenging and time consuming to undo (and mostly won't come undone). Editors I work with complain. It's a real problem.
  August 11, 2017  
Aldo
Could not get consistent format on translations, contacted support and was basically told that was the way it is. They offer custom formatting on the website but can't match format between to similar documents. As I am not happy with my order and was not resolved I am giving them 1 star.
  July 4, 2017  
Jennifer Van E.
I use this company often and loved their service at first - but over the last few months it has gone seriously downhill. I've had multiple transcriptions that were riddled with errors and omissions, so badly that I had to redo them myself - while I was on deadline. (Which is why I hired them in the first place.) I complained about a few, only heard back about one, which they said didn't meet their standards. So did they provide a refund? Nope - just $8 off a $60 job. So I had to transcribe my own file AND pay $52 for the pleasure of doing it. How is that fair? Looking elsewhere. Update: In their reply below Rev says they offered to redo the transcript, but they made the offer a week after I notified them of the issue - long after I needed the transcript. Three out of the last 10 I sent were full of flaws and gaps, really poor track record. They promise fast and accurate transcription, and at first they delivered, but not anymore. If you want "fast and accurate transcription except when it's not and then they'll take a week to get back to you and offer you $8," this is the company for you!
  May 9, 2017  
David J.
I have about 4 specific requests for our subtitles: .vtt format, title screens included in the translated subtitling, no atmospherics, and no opener elements subtitled like copyright screens etc. These requests were explained on our first project with REV. However, every submission has failed to follow these 4 simple requests. Sometimes it has taken over 20 tries for Rev's team to submit an accurate file. That’s 20+ reviews I’ve had to do of their work, 20+ times having to email support, point out whats wrong and wait for a response, and 20+ times of having them return the file still with the same errors. Rev is at such a low level of accuracy when it comes to ensuring instructions are followed that we have lost more time and money than if we had gone with ANY other subtitling service despite the speed/cost advantage REV claims to offer. I feel utterly defeated at the inability to help Rev’s team “get it” and will never be submitting a project again to their incompetent team.
  April 24, 2017  
marc
Are you guys stupid? I complained TWO times about the problem that is easily corrected at your end and instead of helping me, you send me this?
  April 8, 2017  
Kelly J.
I had my secretary go through the English parts of the transcription and she said they were horribly inaccurate. It was basically unusable and she had to start from scratch to fix it.
  February 18, 2017  
Fred
I am very forgiving of transcriptions since I can easily correct mistakes because I conduct the interviews. However, this was really bad. My first unsatisfactory experience.
  January 20, 2017  
Will
UPDATE 3: Amazingly, just 20 hours after it was ordered and 8 hours (a whole working day) after it was supposed to arrive, I now have a transcript. Surprisingly, the quality of the finished product isn't bad. But this in no way makes up for the huge delay to getting it done. As a service that no doubt appeals to freelancers, it's astounding that they don't understand why this is such an issue. If you're a freelancer reading this imagine what would happen if you agreed a deadline with a client and then took over twice the time agreed to produce that work. Without even bothering to tell the client that this would happen until well after the original deadline had passed. This is exactly what you get from Rev. Laughably, they have offered me $10 off my next order. Fortunately, as I paid via PayPal, I should hopefully be able to claim a full refund. UPDATE 2: Customer service has been in touch again and told me the reason for the delay was "a recent influx of orders that have affected all deadlines". In other words, the company freely admits that it's unable to meet the 12 hour turnaround time it uses as its big selling point. To me, that's dangerously close to a scam. So I might get my order completed within 24 hours. If I'm lucky. The worst thing is, the company seems to think that this sort of thing is completely acceptable. Obviously it isn't and I advise anyone needing a quick transcription to look elsewhere. UPDATE: It has now been 19 hours since my order. I've just received an email from customer service telling me that it is currently being worked on and will be ready in 3-4 hours. This raises two issues - the first is that it doesn't take 3-4 hours to transcribe a 25 minute piece of audio. The second is that it's quite clear that not only did Rev miss the 12 hour deadline, but work on my transcription hadn't even started until well after the deadline had passed. Disgraceful is the only word I can think of to describe this service. AVOID THIS COMPANY AT ALL COSTS. Well, it's almost been 18 hours since I uploaded a file for transcription. That's six hours over the promised turnaround time, and there's still no sign of the finished work. I did get an email telling me the service was experiencing delays, but then they didn't even manage to send that until the 12 hour deadline had been and gone. This is my first experience with Rev and it will be my last. If you need urgent work from a company that keeps its promises, then I urge you to look elsewhere. If anyone from Rev bothers reading this, I would suggest you refrain from making promises that you obviously cannot keep.
  January 16, 2017  
Matt S.
They used google translation and my client caught it. Very embarrassing, so I can't trust them again. Rev.com won't give a refund to me that I asked for. They offered to do changes, but how do I know the changes are correct? they asked what parts are wrong, but how do I know what words are wrong without knowing the language? Not worth losing a client over this!
  December 12, 2016  
Lauren
This service cares only about the quantity of translations they can put out, not the quality. I received a translation of a standard, 1-page Spanish-language transcript from a South American university into English, and the results were a joke. Not only were there blatant mistakes in the Spanish-English translations, but the resulting English grammar was incorrect, with capitalization issues to boot. Some examples: Standard academic phrases such as "notas" were translated as "notes" instead of grades, "Dirección" was translated as "direction" instead of "directory." These are simple translations any native speaker or truly trained translator would not make, but it is clear that Rev does not look for any level of quality in its work, so this was not the case. As far as the English phrasing goes, in one case the translator had combined a 3rd-person singular verb with a 3rd-person plural noun (something like "the cars goes"). I spent about 2 hours sending in corrections to them, and after 2 rounds of corrections I brought this to the attention of Rev.com's support team. They only apologized, but basically said they were not liable and that were unwilling to compensate me for my poor experience through a partial or full refund. I would recommend this service to no one, and I will never use this service again. Horrible quality and even worse customer service. Rev.com is just bad business.
  December 12, 2016  
Heinz
I sent in a long webinar to be captioned. Turnaround time was very fast, but the quality was very bad. I've had to edit about every second line to make it correct. Waste of time and money. Don't use.
  November 16, 2016  
Jamie
They guaranteed my 11 minute file would be completed within 12 hours, I submitted it and then they emailed me around 10 hours after I ordered to tell me they were going to increase the rate from $1 to $3! Typical bait and switch tactic! Avoid if you can!
  November 8, 2016  
Sh
Transcriptions had many problems with labeling the speakers in focus group. Speakers were labeled by chance and incorrectly rather than choosing a fictitious name/label for each speaker. So you don't know how many time a specific person has contributed to the discussion.
  June 4, 2016  
Leah
Multiple things left out and mistyped/wrong
  May 12, 2016  
Francisco E.
1. This company failed to meet the contract timeline offer at the beginning of the quote to the customer. 2. Document submitted for translation was for US ARMY Soldier submitting a claim to the Department of Veterans Affairs; although the transaction was submitted at 1:09 pm on 9th May 2016 it was not complete on the 10th of May 2016 as originally stated by the contract. We are still waiting on this document as we are about to start the 11th of May 2016. The translation was needed to be emailed to the VA at 1130 am; we did not receive the document until 1135 am. 3. I called to ask about the document and I got numerous excuses. During the conversation with the REV representative, I had to translate the document over the phone which is unethical and unprofessional because the company charged me for their services. I requested a manager to call me which they never did. I would not recommend this company for official or nonofficial translation.
  March 26, 2016  
Greg
Was promised 24 hour transcription. After 2 days, I called and they said that it would take an extra day. Going on 4 days now and still nothing back.
  October 3, 2015  
Brad
They only typed half of the audio. They have promised to complete it, but now I'm getting emails about widespread delays. We'll wait so see if they do the job.
  July 17, 2015  
Disappointed first time u.
I lodged my transcript on Thursday 16 July 2015. When i go to my order history it states: your order is in progress, we are finding a qualified transcriptionist for your order, expected delivery July 20!!!!!!!! Yet on the rev.com website it clearly states: Orders will be delivered within 24 hours as long as the order is placed prior to 2 PM Eastern and the recording is not greater than one hour in length or complex in nature." well that sums up my order! Not happy.
  June 9, 2015  
ES
We have placed several orders with Rev.com -- this is not based on minimal experience with their work. At one point, the transcriptions were up to par. However, lately the quality of work has been extremely subpar (we are talking no use of MS Word spell check, etc.). We generally order transcriptions -- around the 30 minute mark -- and they are recorded with high clarity via a Yeti microphone and edited with Adobe Audition. So, there's really no excuse. The recording quality is superior. From numerous spelling mistakes, to a lack of basic grammar skills -- the transcriptions we've paid for lately have been hideous (forcing us to re-edit independently). When you explain that the quality level is substandard they reply with a canned autoresponder that says it meets their "internal accuracy" standards and hence they do not remedy the situation. They prefer to send emails back and forth about why they couldn't perform a simple task a 5th grader could achieve. Had they owned up to their errors -- and lack of basic Microsoft Word spell check -- I could be somewhat forgiving. However, we've decided that Rev.com is no longer worth the investment for the quality of work provided. If you have 5 minutes of audio, I'm sure they can handle that with some proficiency. However, if you have anything longer, that requires accuracy, take your business elsewhere. The only upside to Rev.com is that the turnaround is quick, but I'm sure you can find the exact same offering with other online transcription services.