Customer Reviews

At Rev we believe in truthfulness. We post all reviews so you see the good and the bad.

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Showing 3-star reviews  •  See all reviews
  August 29, 2015   Reviewed by Alessandro
Good transcription, high price
I've been trying to use the service to get transcription of emails and other pieces of text that I dictate into my phone during evening walks, or while driving. When I transcribe them myself, by listening to my own voice, I can type the text pretty much in real time, while making a number of corrections. This means that "I am paying Rev $60/h", which for my use case is prohibitively expensive.

  August 9, 2015   Reviewed by stephanie
Couldve been batter
This was the email i sent directly to your company after placing my order. Although my transcript was completed quickly I felt my opinions and questions were not taken into consideration. Nor did the person whom was transcribing it insert the appropriate names therefore I feel as if this couldve been better. Dear Rev, I look forward to receiving my order and I appreciate the discounted orders you have for new customers! I would like to clarify the names Inwhich were noted along with my order, to better help transcribe my recording. With that being said, the first speaker on this audio recording is Stephanie B. (Myself)..  the second speaker on this recording is Joanne R. (Other adult) and the third speaker on this recording is Raelynn B. (Child). Please note,  everything said by the second speaker (Joanne R.) is extremely important as this transcript is being used for court purposes. Also, I am not sure if your company notes in the transcripts emotions (sobbing,Laughing Etc.) If you do not I was hoping you may be able to do so for me? As there are many emotions heard by the third speaker (Raelynn B.) I do look forward to receiving My order as well as continuing to use your services. Thank you for your time.                                     Stephanie Brown

  August 8, 2015   Reviewed by John
Pretty good
Good standard; a few typos, very quick; I was happy.

  August 4, 2015   Reviewed by Rachel
Quick Turnaround but Not Very Accurate
Turnaround was exceptionally quick but unfortunately I had to go over the entire piece because the transcription wasn't very accurate.

  May 30, 2015   Reviewed by Rich
Cheap, but not as accurate as I’d like…
I got a good, quick turnaround of an audio interview transcript. I was impressed with the cost and the fast turnaround time, but, unfortunately, I was disappointed with the accuracy of the transcription. There were whole phrases missing, some transitions glossed over, whole statements that were misheard and, in context, made no sense in the transcript. This is a very important transcript for us, so accuracy was vital. I had to take as much time making corrections as I feel I would have just using voice recognition, or repeating the audio into my iPhone for voice recognition. We’ll give it another try,

  May 21, 2015   Reviewed by Shaun
It was cheap and it saved me time, but there were alot of little things missed.
So I submitted 33 minutes of audio between two parties to be transcribed into text. Granted, there were a few places where some of the audio was a little difficult to understand, but there were some 50-60 places where the transcriber could not understand what was being said. In some, they typed the wring thing, and in others, they just stated that it was "inaudible". Interestingly, I went through and was able to clearly understand the speaker and I fixed 90% of the issues myself. Considering I only paid $22 for the transcription, I can't complain. It save me an enormous amount of time doing it myself. But I spent about an extra 90 minutes fixing the parts that were either wrong, or too difficult for the transcriber to understand.

  December 17, 2014   Reviewed by Writer
overall ok
Seems this transcript was done in india - some of the words used point to that. bit heavy on the editing out of comments such as " let me see how i can say that" - a couple of marked areas that the transcriber could not decipher that i had no trouble hearing. other than that good value for the money if you are prepared to reread the whole thing. If you plan to do a review you get a good transcript to work with and that would be 4 star. If you want to use the transcript as is its a 3 star.

  August 25, 2014   Reviewed by David
Wonder if the transcribers actually speak English?
Had six customer interviews transcribed. With the exception of one, all the interviews were recorded in clear, California English. What came back was quite cryptic and hard to read. It seems as if the transcribers have limited English skills or are simply not great transcibers/typists.

  July 29, 2014   Reviewed by Eric
very good. very quick service.
The service was very effective. It really helped me in a jam. There were mistakes however. Not many but I did have to do corrective editing. Overall it was a good service.

  July 19, 2014   Reviewed by Donnette
It's their way or the highway
The transcript did not come back in 48 hours and they will tell you at the beginning that they use their format, period. I did send a long project, 3 hrs, 45 min. I spent all day yesterday going over it against audio and only completely the first hour and a half. This does not include the time spent to get it in the format I need. The presentation had multiple accents. They seemed to have more trouble with the Americans than the Middle Easterners. I think they are comparable to voice recognition. If you have the time to reformat and clean it up, they are fine.

  July 17, 2014   Reviewed by Anna
Not as good as I expected
It was not typed as accurate as I thought it would. Makes the conversation look different than if you listen to the recording. Missing information that transcriptionist couldn't understand.

  July 15, 2014   Reviewed by Jonathan
Paid for "verbatim" service. Scripts still came out with errors.
The service in and of itself is awesome... I can't thank you guys enough for taking hours out of my work schedule by offering an affordable transcription service. The turn around time was aslo absolutely impressive... less than 24 hours! HOWEVER... I ended up paying for the "verbatim" add-on service... and what I got was definitely NOT verbatim from my video clips. And it wasn't that the video was not clear. Most of the speakers in the video were mic'ed up. And regardless, all of them were perfectly audible. Judging from the quality of this order, I realized that this service might actually be using a program to process the transcript... even though they advertise "human transcribing". So all in all, great service with a few blips here and there in the wording, which may or may not be due to a bit of false advertising.... Not a big deal since I'm going in and revising the scripts, but I definitely won't be paying for the verbatim service again. To be honest, I kinda feel cheated in that regard.

  July 8, 2014   Reviewed by Michael
Real quick reponse time, but had errors
They did a good job with responding quickly. I paid for verbatim, and it wasn't completely verbatim...

  June 24, 2014   Reviewed by Yvette
Transcription Not accurate
When playing back my recording & comparing It to the transcription, there were a significant amount of Data missing. Not worth paying $26 for cut out transcriptions.

  June 20, 2014   Reviewed by taalaikul
Not that good
a lot of misspelling from Russian to English was not translated correct I had to do it with someone else other company paid $ 25.00

  June 19, 2014   Reviewed by Thomas
The document was not properly translated
Speed was there but not so much for quality. There were a couple of inadequately translated words and formatting issues. This was for a 2 page Japanese family registry (charged as 3 pages) which should have been relatively easy to handle. I am having the translated document translated again to Korean. The Korean translator asked me to review (which the other translator didn't even bother) and I ended up fixing a fair amount of the work only to find out the initial job was not thoroughly executed to begin with....

  June 17, 2014   Reviewed by Yari
Not too acurate
As I am going through the text carefully and comparing it with audio file I see that there are some sentences here and there - sometime whole paragraphs - are missing.

  June 16, 2014   Reviewed by Sally's A.
Quick turnaround but errors in the transcription
I'm a doctoral student and needed some transcription done for a project. I'm on a limited budget, so a colleague recommended They were very fast. I sent a 45 minute interview last week and it was completed and sent to me on the weekend. I just did one transcript to try it out and am going through the audio file and transcription now for errors and there are a few. Its definitely saving me time, but not as much as I'd hoped because I still have to go back and fix things.

  June 13, 2014   Reviewed by Sophia
Good turnaround time, but inaccurate in some places
Generally I'm very happy with the service provided. That said, I paid extra for the time annotations and found that the time annotations made were not done in a consistent fashion and therefore were not useful. Also, the time annotations were done using the wrong timescale. Finally, there were some mistakes in the expertise due to lack of domain expertise. I suppose it's too much to expect that the person doing the transcription be an expert in big data technologies but due to these mistakes I had to review the transcription very carefully and fix it.

  June 7, 2014   Reviewed by Lenny
Very fast. Good grammar. Got someone else's data repeatedly. Will use again.
Got data in 3 hours instead of the advertised 48. Good grammar. Got my content, along with someone else's. Then along came a very confusing email telling me my requested edits were made, but I didn't request any. When I asked what was going on, they said they corrected my content because I had someone else's, but the edited copy contained it yet again. When I informed them of this, they sent it a 3rd time with just my content. IDK, whatever. It worked, and I'll use the service again. I don't think I'd use the service for anything sensitive though, and I doubt someone "double checks" the work as advertised.