Customer Reviews

Rev's audio transcription and video caption services are trusted by more than 100,000 customers around the world. Our 99% accuracy is backed with a 100% guarantee.

Overall Customer Satisfaction
4.7/5
Based on 4,209 reviews
100% Verified Feedback & Reviews from Customers
5 star
(3465)
4 star
(456)
3 star
(145)
2 star
(73)
1 star
(70)
Showing 1-star reviews  •  See all reviews
  July 9, 2018   Reviewed by Robert J.
Excellent service and accuracy!
Excellent service and accuracy!

  July 5, 2018   Reviewed by Jeff L.
I'm reading through a transcript and…
I'm reading through a transcript and it's terrible. Practically every other sentence has a spot that you've tagged as inaudible. And far too much of the transcription is simply wrong. I'm guessing you have some software program that is handling this service. But it's not handling it. This is very disappointing and not worthy of the money spent on it.

  June 19, 2018   Reviewed by Martin H.
Not a good experience
Not a good experience. Very disappointed with the app. Contacted support to cancel order, but have yet to hear from them. Cannot endorse this product or the company, and warn others to proceed with the greatest caution.

  June 7, 2018   Reviewed by austin s.
so bad
so bad, wish I could get my money that was wasted. The robot doesn't work its not people that do it

  May 11, 2018   Reviewed by Brianne M.
I made an order with several files
I made an order with several files. Got 2 and no follow up a week later as to why everything else was annoyed. I need to be contacted and refunded.

  March 14, 2018   Reviewed by Seliat A.
Unnacceptable experience
Unnacceptable experience. Transcription was wholly inaccurate with incorrect words inserted and some aspects not even transcribed when they were clearly audible. I had to redo these files myself which went against the point of paying for transcription. Granted, some of the transcribed files were much better than others, very pleasing in fact, but if I remember correctly I had to make edits to every single file transcribed by Rev, which isn't reflective of the 99% accuracy they guarantee. Their money back guarantee isn't as they state- they refuse to refund your money, they say they will get things transcribed again, which defeats the purpose when trust is lost. They also state that a review of below three stars results in the Quality Assurance team getting in touch in an attempt to improve the transcription. Unfortunately, that didn't occur when I reviewed one of my files, I had to personally get in contact with the organisation to raise awareness of the situation. Nevertheless, they did reply to this.

  March 6, 2018   Reviewed by Melissa A.
Classic Buyer Beware
They are obviously using a speech-to-text conversion tool for transcription - so, some of the proofreaders pick up the conversion errors, and some don't - they don't read sentences for context, so a lot of things get missed. I had to pretty much go back through all 4 hours of my audio, and re-transcribe it myself. I also had to spend a lot of time arguing with their customer service department, who basically told me I shouldn't have used their service because they can't meet my needs (my audio files were "too complex" because there were multiple speakers). After all was said and done, working with rev.com cost me at least 10-15 hours in additional time to redo their poor quality work. I question the legitimacy of the positive ratings on this service. Super shady if you ask me. Never would use them again or recommend them to anyone. In response to rev's suggestion below that I email their support team - been there, done that. All it did was cost me additional time wasted explaining why this is unacceptable. There's no way these files are being done by human transcriptionists. I had to redo the file myself, and the audio was fine. They just weren't willing to take the time needed to produce quality results.

  December 22, 2017   Reviewed by Kathy B.
Typist unable to correctly spell
Typist unable to correctly spell: its/it's, whose/who's, your/you're, lets/let's, their/they're. Since transcriptionists are professional spellers, they should be able to spell correctly. Took 6 hours to correct the transcript. Wasted $108. Offered us a $10 credit, insulting.

  December 17, 2017   Reviewed by Andrew R.
Copy change was terrible.
Copy change was terrible.

  November 27, 2017   Reviewed by Jeremy
I was expecting better and more …
I was expecting better and more complete transcription based on the site stating a 99% accuracy and could handle poor audio quality. I spent over $1,000 and expected more for what I paid.

  November 25, 2017   Reviewed by Andi W.
never received my project.
never received my project.

  November 8, 2017   Reviewed by KI
Slipshod transcript with a multitude of …
Slipshod transcript with a multitude of mistakes. Will not use this service again.

  October 27, 2017   Reviewed by Unhappy T.
Don't use this service
My transcript must have been written by a machine. No human would make so many, dumb mistakes. Worse, whole portions of the transcribed interview were attributed to the wrong speaker. They even got the name of my company wrong at least twice in the transcript. UPDATE: The Rev.com response below suggests I should use their star rating that came on the transcript. But only one of the three transcripts I received had such a system and it was not the one that was most mangled. Further, it appears to suggest that the person who handled the transcript would be punished -- I think this is more of a system failure.

  October 18, 2017   Reviewed by Heidi H.
I cannot work with the formatting
I cannot work with the formatting. I asked to have it not used, and Rev.com agreed. Then the formatting I requested not be used, was used. I asked for it to be removed. They said no. I will not be using them again. The formatting is impossible to work with and is very challenging and time consuming to undo (and mostly won't come undone). Editors I work with complain. It's a real problem.

  August 11, 2017   Reviewed by Aldo
Could not get consistent format on …
Could not get consistent format on translations, contacted support and was basically told that was the way it is. They offer custom formatting on the website but can't match format between to similar documents. As I am not happy with my order and was not resolved I am giving them 1 star.

  July 4, 2017   Reviewed by Jennifer Van E.
Was good at first, now terrible
I use this company often and loved their service at first - but over the last few months it has gone seriously downhill. I've had multiple transcriptions that were riddled with errors and omissions, so badly that I had to redo them myself - while I was on deadline. (Which is why I hired them in the first place.) I complained about a few, only heard back about one, which they said didn't meet their standards. So did they provide a refund? Nope - just $8 off a $60 job. So I had to transcribe my own file AND pay $52 for the pleasure of doing it. How is that fair? Looking elsewhere. Update: In their reply below Rev says they offered to redo the transcript, but they made the offer a week after I notified them of the issue - long after I needed the transcript. Three out of the last 10 I sent were full of flaws and gaps, really poor track record. They promise fast and accurate transcription, and at first they delivered, but not anymore. If you want "fast and accurate transcription except when it's not and then they'll take a week to get back to you and offer you $8," this is the company for you!

  May 9, 2017   Reviewed by David J.
worst subtitling company ever...
I have about 4 specific requests for our subtitles: .vtt format, title screens included in the translated subtitling, no atmospherics, and no opener elements subtitled like copyright screens etc. These requests were explained on our first project with REV. However, every submission has failed to follow these 4 simple requests. Sometimes it has taken over 20 tries for Rev's team to submit an accurate file. That’s 20+ reviews I’ve had to do of their work, 20+ times having to email support, point out whats wrong and wait for a response, and 20+ times of having them return the file still with the same errors. Rev is at such a low level of accuracy when it comes to ensuring instructions are followed that we have lost more time and money than if we had gone with ANY other subtitling service despite the speed/cost advantage REV claims to offer. I feel utterly defeated at the inability to help Rev’s team “get it” and will never be submitting a project again to their incompetent team.

  April 24, 2017   Reviewed by marc
Are you guys stupid
Are you guys stupid? I complained TWO times about the problem that is easily corrected at your end and instead of helping me, you send me this?

  April 8, 2017   Reviewed by Kelly J.
I had my secretary go through the …
I had my secretary go through the English parts of the transcription and she said they were horribly inaccurate. It was basically unusable and she had to start from scratch to fix it.

  February 18, 2017   Reviewed by Fred
Sloppy transcription.
I am very forgiving of transcriptions since I can easily correct mistakes because I conduct the interviews. However, this was really bad. My first unsatisfactory experience.