Customer Reviews

Rev's audio transcription and video caption services are trusted by more than 100,000 customers around the world. Our 99% accuracy is backed with a 100% guarantee.

OVERALL TRUSTSCORE

4.6/5

100% Verified Feedback & Reviews from Customers

Based on 4,352 reviews

  August 27, 2018  
Josh
Quality of transcriptions has declined of late. Many inaccuracies and bad guesses. Some sentences just do not make sense, suggesting poor quality control/checking. Price is great, but will not use again.
  August 22, 2018  
David H.
there are elements of your service that I like an element so I do not. The last bit of transcription done for me was particularly bad. And the format that I cannot change is not what I need. I asked whether I could change the format so I didn't have to remove who said what and just keep the words in paragraphs, and the answer I was given was it is not possible. I will keep on using the service but spend a good deal of time when I get a transcription back making it suitable for my purposes.
  August 1, 2018  
N Q.
Unable to offer transcription of a portion of a video - they wanted to take extra time and money to do the whole thing. You'd think this is a fairly basic expectation of a transcription service. Customer service was friendly but unhelpful and, despite asking for shortened turnaround, twelve hours after the order was placed and a couple of hours after begrudgingly accepting their arguments about needing to do the whole file I still haven't received my transcripts. Also worth noting that their customer service doesn't seem to be 24hr, so bad luck if you're not in the US.
  June 19, 2018  
Vince L.
Lots of mistakes in the work. We had to go back and make so many checks and corrections it cost more than the transcription fee. Quality with Rev is very hit and miss.
  June 13, 2018  
Jim W.
There were a few points throughout the transcript that did not match what I heard on the tape. More gaps in the transcript than I would expect for a paid service.
  June 13, 2018  
AM
Quality is very inconsistent, depending on who transcribes your audio files. Some files are done very well, and you can tell the employee put time into it. The majority, however, were done very poorly--employees were not putting any effort, and they marked well-articulated and clear words and sentences as [inaudible]. It was so frustrating to have to redo the transcripts myself. Another issue that really frustrated me--most ethnic names were marked as [inaudible]. Rev really has to train its staff on cultural sensitivities and increase the diversity of their employees. This was a very frustrating and microaggressive (not to mention costly!) transaction I've ever done.
  June 13, 2018  
Steve W.
to Rev Hi there. Thanks for the reply. While I appreciate your response, it is woefully inadequate. The reality is the person at our end responsible for taking the transcriptions and formatting them into a report has has to go back through each recording in our last two jobs and cross reference the inaudible's with the audio to determine what was said. In almost every case they have successfully managed to do so which demonstrates your transcribers have simple shown a lack of care and pride in their work. This has created a huge amount of waste and additional cost for us. We used Rev over a year ago and then trialled some of your competitors. The quality of translation from them by way of comparison is far better. What you have in your favour is a user interface which streamlines the administration process. This is what prompted me to use you again. After this experience we won't be using you again. I don't have the luxury of wasting this amount of time seeking support, only to get this sort of response and the reality is we have already invested time remedying the problem while you took days to come back to us. What the Rev exec team need to understand is that your business needs to closely inspect what is going on with the quality of your transcriptions and the level of customer service or you will continue to lose customers. At the minimum we should be offered some sort of rebate but clearly this is not something Rev feel is necessary and that shows in the feel of your response. Culturally you are missing the care for customers that will set you apart in the market. This should be a red flag for everyone who works in your organisation.
  June 6, 2018  
Steven P.
Took too long No visibility on specific timing. Took too long to be returned. No ability to edit or understand job once submitted.
  May 22, 2018  
Justine N.
I was very disappointed with the Rev transcription, it was littered with errors and I had to listen to the audio file to make sense of it - not at all the point of why I paid to get the transcription done.
  April 13, 2018  
A M.
Very disappointed. I had to go back and add so much. Will never use again, money wasted!
  December 28, 2017  
Visual Education S.
Pros: Rev admitted their transcriptionists were not producing quality work and made multiple attempts to improve. Cons: Three transcriptionists worked on my file over four days. None of them used the glossary I provided and the transcript was full of errors and omissions. Additionally, there were so many [inaudible]s that the transcript was unreadable. I was unable to use the transcript, so hired one of Rev's competitors, who had no problems delivering an accurate transcript in 12 hours with only four [inaudible]s. Note - Audio was a 45-minute lecture on a medication's side effects.
  December 27, 2017  
Jose F.
For me it wasn't about speed, was about quality. I ended up spending a lot of time reviewing the transcription, a significant amount of words do not match the audio file. On top of that, the need for verbatim was ignored. To note that verbatim request was only made after the order was placed.
  November 1, 2017  
A. B. M.
I had an uneven experience. I wanted three parts of the same interview transcribed. The first two parts were done quickly and accurately. But the last part of the same interview with exactly the same sound quality was refused and my money was refunded. Why? They offered a cover-all explanation, but there's no transparency, no appeal. Final verdict: Rev is unreliable. I have moved on to other services.
  October 16, 2017  
Brent B.
In the past Rev has delivered our French Subtitles fast, but this last project took over a week and they did not keep in touch and update us. This kind of unprofessionalism and inconsistency will have us look elsewhere in the future. I would have given one star if not for timely first projects they did.
  October 15, 2017  
Chris
The transcription was quite good, but not when you compare to the Temi transcription which was 1/10 the cost.
  October 9, 2017  
Jacqueline H.
I ordered several transcriptions on a Friday afternoon. They advertise that they have a 12 hour turnaround for files under an hour, but mine were not completed in a 24 hour period. And most of my orders had not even begun after said 24 hour period. Customer service was eventually prompt and helpful but my order was not completed, and I ended up having to cancel it. I have used them several times in the past, and usually, they are okay. I have had them cancel orders on me before. While I was a loyal customer previously, I would no longer use their services again in the future.
  September 28, 2017  
Josh
Cheap and fast transcription service but transcribers did not use list of terms and place names that was provided. Lots of errors and inaccuracies. Disappointing overall. Will pay more for a higher quality service in the future.
  July 27, 2017  
Jonathan P.
Transcript has several gaps and is missing parts of the recording. It also has some of the quotes mis-attributed. I am now having to go back through and try to piece together the gaps myself.
  July 21, 2017  
Nicholas G.
Give me a call and I'll let you know...
  May 27, 2017  
My S.
Incorrect translations, after reaching out to support it took too long for them to offer to change. I had to go elsewhere to fix 2 out of the 3 translations. Seems like quantity is their focus, not quality.