Customer Reviews

At Rev we believe in truthfulness. We post all reviews so you see the good and the bad.

4.6
5 star
(2073)
4 star
(267)
3 star
(103)
2 star
(47)
1 star
(36)
Showing 3-star reviews  •  See all reviews
  August 25, 2014   Reviewed by David
Wonder if the transcribers actually speak English?
Had six customer interviews transcribed. With the exception of one, all the interviews were recorded in clear, California English. What came back was quite cryptic and hard to read. It seems as if the transcribers have limited English skills or are simply not great transcibers/typists.

  July 29, 2014   Reviewed by Eric
very good. very quick service.
The service was very effective. It really helped me in a jam. There were mistakes however. Not many but I did have to do corrective editing. Overall it was a good service.

  July 19, 2014   Reviewed by Donnette
It's their way or the highway
The transcript did not come back in 48 hours and they will tell you at the beginning that they use their format, period. I did send a long project, 3 hrs, 45 min. I spent all day yesterday going over it against audio and only completely the first hour and a half. This does not include the time spent to get it in the format I need. The presentation had multiple accents. They seemed to have more trouble with the Americans than the Middle Easterners. I think they are comparable to voice recognition. If you have the time to reformat and clean it up, they are fine.

  July 17, 2014   Reviewed by Anna
Not as good as I expected
It was not typed as accurate as I thought it would. Makes the conversation look different than if you listen to the recording. Missing information that transcriptionist couldn't understand.

  July 15, 2014   Reviewed by Jonathan
Paid for "verbatim" service. Scripts still came out with errors.
The service in and of itself is awesome... I can't thank you guys enough for taking hours out of my work schedule by offering an affordable transcription service. The turn around time was aslo absolutely impressive... less than 24 hours! HOWEVER... I ended up paying for the "verbatim" add-on service... and what I got was definitely NOT verbatim from my video clips. And it wasn't that the video was not clear. Most of the speakers in the video were mic'ed up. And regardless, all of them were perfectly audible. Judging from the quality of this order, I realized that this service might actually be using a program to process the transcript... even though they advertise "human transcribing". So all in all, great service with a few blips here and there in the wording, which may or may not be due to a bit of false advertising.... Not a big deal since I'm going in and revising the scripts, but I definitely won't be paying for the verbatim service again. To be honest, I kinda feel cheated in that regard.

  July 8, 2014   Reviewed by Michael
Real quick reponse time, but had errors
They did a good job with responding quickly. I paid for verbatim, and it wasn't completely verbatim...

  June 24, 2014   Reviewed by Yvette
Transcription Not accurate
When playing back my recording & comparing It to the transcription, there were a significant amount of Data missing. Not worth paying $26 for cut out transcriptions.

  June 20, 2014   Reviewed by taalaikul
Not that good
a lot of misspelling from Russian to English was not translated correct I had to do it with someone else other company paid $ 25.00

  June 19, 2014   Reviewed by Thomas
The document was not properly translated
Speed was there but not so much for quality. There were a couple of inadequately translated words and formatting issues. This was for a 2 page Japanese family registry (charged as 3 pages) which should have been relatively easy to handle. I am having the translated document translated again to Korean. The Korean translator asked me to review (which the other translator didn't even bother) and I ended up fixing a fair amount of the work only to find out the initial job was not thoroughly executed to begin with....

  June 17, 2014   Reviewed by Yari
Not too acurate
As I am going through the text carefully and comparing it with audio file I see that there are some sentences here and there - sometime whole paragraphs - are missing.

  June 16, 2014   Reviewed by Sally's A.
Quick turnaround but errors in the transcription
I'm a doctoral student and needed some transcription done for a project. I'm on a limited budget, so a colleague recommended Rev.com. They were very fast. I sent a 45 minute interview last week and it was completed and sent to me on the weekend. I just did one transcript to try it out and am going through the audio file and transcription now for errors and there are a few. Its definitely saving me time, but not as much as I'd hoped because I still have to go back and fix things.

  June 13, 2014   Reviewed by Sophia
Good turnaround time, but inaccurate in some places
Generally I'm very happy with the service provided. That said, I paid extra for the time annotations and found that the time annotations made were not done in a consistent fashion and therefore were not useful. Also, the time annotations were done using the wrong timescale. Finally, there were some mistakes in the expertise due to lack of domain expertise. I suppose it's too much to expect that the person doing the transcription be an expert in big data technologies but due to these mistakes I had to review the transcription very carefully and fix it.

  June 7, 2014   Reviewed by Lenny
Very fast. Good grammar. Got someone else's data repeatedly. Will use again.
Got data in 3 hours instead of the advertised 48. Good grammar. Got my content, along with someone else's. Then along came a very confusing email telling me my requested edits were made, but I didn't request any. When I asked what was going on, they said they corrected my content because I had someone else's, but the edited copy contained it yet again. When I informed them of this, they sent it a 3rd time with just my content. IDK, whatever. It worked, and I'll use the service again. I don't think I'd use the service for anything sensitive though, and I doubt someone "double checks" the work as advertised.

  June 5, 2014   Reviewed by Chris
More corrections than antcipated
Good turn around time BUT would have waited longer IF it meant me not doing so many time consuming corrections.

  June 1, 2014   Reviewed by Vince
Well transcribed with a few hiccups along the way.
Having been referred to the site from my friend who mentioned a very fast turnaround time, I decided to give it a shot being that I had a deadline to meet relatively soon. The turnaround time was fairly quick at under 48 hours unfortunately it was not my transcription!!! Anxiety took a hold of me as my deadline was quickly approaching. I quickly messaged them and then also called them on the phone. First call was dropped. 2nd call was answered where I relayed my dilemma. She was able to confirm the situation that the audio submitted was indeed not the same as the transcript I had received(duh) but was not able to tell me much else like perhaps if the wrong transcript was uploaded in lieu of mine. She stated she would resubmit the audio for transcription. I.E. start over. Eventually I received an email stating what had been conveyed by the phone operator to which i replied with the same question, hopeing that it was just a wrong upload by the transcriber and that my transcription was finished and out there somewhere. Nope. Starting from scratch. They said they'd put a rush on it but could not guarantee anything earlier than another 48 hour window. A new transcription arrived a day after the problem was brought to light. Pros -Well transcribed Cons - Could have communicated the situation better - one day after expected delivery time

  May 28, 2014   Reviewed by interaction r.
Fast turn around but somewhat spotty transcription
I was impressed when I received the transcription later the same day. I have been less impressed as I've gone through the transcription because of the inconsistent quality: things like "then" as "than" are annoying but not a deal breaker, but there were some sections where words/phrases were wrong ("tutor" instead of "teacher") or simply omitted. This definitely saved me some time, but I'm having to spend several hours to review and correct. I feel like this is an acceptable rough draft of a transcript, but I'd like something more polished. I will be looking at another transcription in future; I may pay more up front, but hopefully I will have less work cleaning up on the back end. Some context: recording was 53 minute interview between two males, American-English speakers, good quality audio

  May 17, 2014   Reviewed by Toni
Good but not great
This service is better than most. The last time i used it, it was called Fox Transcribe. Then, I found the transcription to be amazingly accurate. This time there were a large number of inaccuracies. Some of which made no sense. Had the transcript been proof-read, a human reader would have caught the errors. So, I am a bit disappointed. But, for the price, i cannot be too disappointed i guess.

  May 16, 2014   Reviewed by Luis M.
at least one translation is not complete
please check at the end of trad3front

  May 14, 2014   Reviewed by jewel
fair
Quick, fair transcription service

  May 6, 2014   Reviewed by KateQ
Speedy turnaround - too many easy errors
I used rev.com service for a standard Thai - English birth certificate translation. Overall I think the customer service staff is very polite, fast and responsive (although could improve on attention to detail). The translation quality itself is a bit of a worry. I had spelled out all names of people and location to avoid any errors and delays - but then I received a translation that had overly obvious mistakes on it (such as Birth notification date being BEFORE my actual birthdate, translating Thai number incorrectly, too many 'illegible' although the copy is very legible, and so on). I think rev.com has a good set-up, but definitely can use a more qualified Thai translator. If the translator was not an issue I would have been able to use the first version of the translation I received. That came within hours of original document submission - which was very impressive.